The Complete Mortgage Glossary

Brush up on these common terms in mortgage lending prior to securing a loan to move through the process seamlessly and with confidence.

Amortization:

The process of paying off a debt over time through regular payments.

Appraisal:

An opinion of a home’s value as of a given date of a property prepared by an expert. The experts are usually licensed in the state. 

Appreciation:

The increase in a property’s value over time.

ARM (Adjustable-Rate Mortgage):

A mortgage in which rate changes according to a formula specified in the loan document.

Automated Underwriting:

A computerized system that preliminarily determines a borrower’s loan eligibility based on a predetermined set of financial criteria.

Bottom-line Price:

The highest price you would be willing to pay for a property. Unless you are making a “take it or leave it” offer, you would initially offer a price lower than your bottom-line price and negotiate your way upward. Obviously, you never let a seller know your bottom-line price.

Buyer’s Agent (also the Selling Agent):

This real estate agent who works on behalf of a buyer by researching homes and neighborhoods and drawing up offers and contracts. Ask your agent to draw up a Buyer’s Broker Representation Agreement.

Buyer’s Broker Representation Agreement:

A written agreement that stipulates a buyer’s agent will work only on behalf of the buyer.

Capital:

Wealth or assets used to stimulate production of additional assets.

Cash Flow:

In a rental property owned by an investor, this refers to the amount of money a property generates after expenses are accounted for.

Casualty Insurance (also Homeowners insurance, Fire insurance or Hazard insurance):

A policy which protects the homeowner against damages to their property caused by fire and other common hazards. Liability insurance, which protects homeowners in case someone is injured on their property, is also included. Most policies are “full replacement cost,” which guarantees sufficient funds to rebuild the home. Full replacement cost is usually determined based on a home’s last appraised value less the cost of the land. In order to protect lenders’ interests, they are typically named on casualty insurance plans as additional insured parties.

Certified Public Accountant (CPA):

A CPA is an accountant who has passed a state examination and other requirements necessary to be a practicing professional. There are excellent tax preparers who are not CPAs.

Closing Costs:

The miscellaneous costs associated with closing. These typically include a Loan Origination Fee and Discount Points, Appraisal Fee, other Lender Fees, Escrow and Title Fees, and the first year’s Insurance Premium.

Comparables:

Properties that are similarly sized and have similar features to a subject property. By reviewing comparable properties, buyers and their agents can get an idea of a property’s market value.

Comparative Market Analyses:

Conducted by a real estate agent, this assessment of a property’s value is used to determine a reasonable offering price.

Condominium:

In general, a higher density type of development in which a resident owns one of many units along with a share of the ground and other common amenities, like a swimming pool. The units are generally attached (unlike traditional single-family detached homes).

Condo Association:

A condo association is a governing body that consists of individual condominium unit owners and that makes decisions regarding the maintenance of a condominium building and its grounds.

Counter-offer:

In a real estate negotiation, a counter-offer is typically a response by the seller to the buyer’s initial offer. It is usually lower than the initial listing price and higher than the buyer’s offer.

Credit:

Money that is available for the sake of a loan.

Credit Bureaus:

Private companies that collect and maintain individuals’ credit histories, which they provide to creditors for a fee. The three major credit bureaus are Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.

Credit Markets

Just as there is a stock market, there is a market where fixed-income securities are traded. Among these are mortgage-backed securities, pools of mortgages that are sold to investors, such as pension plans and hedge funds.

Credit Report:

Produced by credit reporting agencies, this reveals the borrower’s history and current status of obligations. You’re entitled to one free credit report from each bureau every 12 months. You can request these reports at AnnualCreditReport.com. 

Deed:

In many states, the word mortgage is used but the security instrument whereby the property is given as security for the loan is actually a Deed of Trust. There are three parties to the instrument: the Trustor, the borrower, the Trustee, and the Beneficiary, the lender. The borrower transfers the legal title for the property to the trustee who holds the property in trust as security for the payment of the debt to the lender or beneficiary. In the event of default, the beneficiary notifies the Trustee of the default whereupon the trustee proceeds to sell the property at a public sale. This is really a “paper function” as the Trustee will actually play no role. In most states a lender seeks a non-judicial foreclosure where the proceeds of the sale less the costs are the lender’s revenue to apply against the loan. If the proceeds from the sale are not sufficient to pay off the loan, the lender may not pursue other legal action to collect the deficiency. In some states, but not all, a lender must seek a judicial foreclosure to recover the full amount owed.

Dual Agency:

When a buyer’s agent concurrently represents the interests of a seller. Dual agency is generally not recommended.

Earnest Money:

The deposit money given by the buyer to his agent or settlement agent upon the signing of the Offer to Purchase (alternately known in some regions as the Deposit Receipt). This shows that the buyer is serious about buying the house. If the sale goes through, the earnest money is applied against the down payment. If a contract to purchase is not agreed upon, it is returned to the buyer. If a contract is agreed upon but the sale is not consummated, disposition of the earnest money, either forfeited to the seller or returned to the buyer is dependent upon what is agreed to in the Purchase Contract.

Escrow:

In California and some other states, the settlement agent who handles the closing of a purchase transaction is an Escrow Company. In other states, settlement agents may be the escrow division of a title company or an attorney.

Escrow accounts (also Impound Accounts):

Lender-established accounts through which a borrower makes payments and a lender takes deductions to cover the costs of the following: mortgage insurance premiums, property tax payments, and/or casualty insurance premiums. Escrow accounts are customary in the East, especially where the LTV of an original loan exceeds 80%. In these situations, borrow equity is not high and if foreclosure became necessary, the lender would not want to recoup the cost of back taxes payment.

Escrow Officer:

After an offer is made, an escrow officer (or a representative of an attorney’s office) facilitates the transaction from the time the contract is signed through the close of escrow. These include inspections, earnest money agreements, disclosures, lender issues, and title and escrow issues. This is different from an escrow coordinator attached to a real estate broker’s office — a person whose services you should not pay for.

Equity:

The difference between the value of a property and the amount owed on any mortgages or liens.

Federal Reserve (also “The Fed”):

The central bank of the United States government. The Federal Reserve is responsible for setting short-term interest rates that serve as models for many types of loans. Mortgage rates, however, are influenced by the market rates on long-term securities like the 10-year Treasury Bond, which is only loosely affected by the Fed.

FICO:

Created by the Fair Isaac and Co., this mathematical scoring system is the major credit scoring model used to assess the relative risk of an individual borrower.

Fixed-Rate Loan:

A loan in which the interest rate doesn’t fluctuate but rather remains consistent for the life of the loan.

Foreclosure:

The legal process by which a lender enforces payment of a debt secured by a mortgage, or deed of trust. During a foreclosure, the lender takes possession of the home, evicts the mortgagor, and sells the mortgaged property. If the sales price is not enough to pay off the loan, the lender may have other remedies dependent upon state laws, which vary from state to state.

For Sale By Owner Properties:

Properties that are sold directly by owners rather than through a brokerage firm. You can use a broker to help you but you, not the seller, are responsible for the agent’s commission.

Good Faith Estimate:

Provided by a mortgage lender or broker, this is a list of estimated fees and costs associated with a home loan. Your lender must, by law, give you this and other disclosures within 3 days of your application.

Home Protection Warranty Package:

A service contract paid by the seller that covers breakdowns in heating, plumbing, air conditioning or electrical systems, usually within the first year of ownership.

Interest:

The price paid for borrowing money.

Interest-Only Loan:

A loan that requires a borrower to pay back interest only for a set number of years. After the interest-only period has expired, the remaining principal is typically amortized over the remainder of the life of the loan.

Interest Rate:

The rate, which fluctuates according to various economic forces, that is the measure of the price at which money can be borrowed.

Interest Rate Lock:

An assurance from a lender that an interest rate will not rise between the time a borrower locks in the terms of the loan and the time the loan closes.

Lien:

A claim by one person or entity on the property of another. Commonly, this is security for money owed, created by the lender when you buy a property. Liens also include obligations not met or satisfied, judgments, unpaid taxes, materials, or labor.

Liquidity:

The percentage of assets that can be quickly turned into cash. Liquidity is also a measure of the funds available for down payment, closing costs, and reserves.

Listing Agent:

The agent who represents the interests of the seller.

Lock Period:

Either 15, 30, 45, or 60 days, lock periods are set amounts of time during which the interest rates buyers have been promised cannot be made any higher.

Lot Number:

The number corresponding to a parcel of land meant to be owned by a particular individual.

Loan-to-Value (LTV):

A ratio that expresses the amount of a first mortgage lien as a percentage of a property’s total appraised value. For example, if a borrower wants $100,000 to buy a home worth $120,000, the LTV ratio is $100,000/$120,000 or 83%.

Mortgage:

A lien or claim against real property given by the buyer to the lender as security for money borrowed.

Mortgage Loan Officer:

A representative of a lending institution who acts as an intermediary between the institution and the borrower.

Multiple Listing Service:

A group of private databases that provides real estate brokers with a comprehensive look at available housing in a particular market or across markets. The information, which used to be guarded, is now available at numerous websites.

National Association of Realtors:

A trade organization consisting of a membership of more than 700,000 Realtors.

Negative Amortization:

A method of loan repayment in which the borrower does not pay back the full amount of interest owed each month. The portion of interest that remains unpaid is added to the total amount owed to the lender.

Piggyback Transaction:

Typically utilized by borrowers who wish to avoid paying private mortgage insurance(generally a requirement when a person makes a down payment of less than 20%), piggyback transactions or 80-10-10 mortgages as they are alternately called, are transactions by which two separate mortgages are originated at once. The first position lien has an 80% loan-to-value ratio and the second position lien has a 10% loan-to-value ratio. The remaining 10% is accounted for in the form of a down payment.

Points:

A point is 1% of the amount of the loan. On a $50,000, one point is $500 while on a $200,000 loan, one point is $2,000. When a borrower pays points, this first includes the Loan Origination Fee. Additional points are called “discount points” and are an off-set against interest rate. Lenders will, these days, almost always offer a number of “rate versus fee” combinations allowing the borrower to choose one which is most suitable for his circumstance.

Pre-approval:

A commitment from a lender stipulating how much money a person may borrow and under what terms and conditions.

Preliminary Title Report:

Once escrow is opened, a preliminary title report is issued. This report provides buyers with information on a property’s title and whether there are any easements, liens and encumbrances on a particular property.

Pre-qualification:

An informal, but not binding assessment of how much money a person could potentially borrow from a lender. Pre-qualification is an opinion rather than a promise, and is thus different from pre-approval.

Principal:

The balance of the loan outstanding. This is the amount upon which the interest payment is computed.

Private Mortgage Insurance:

A form of insurance that lenders generally require when borrowers make down payments that are less than 20%; in other words, when their loan-to-value (LTV) percentage is greater than 80%.

Property Insurance (Fire Insurance):

Insurance policy intended to cover risks including fire, theft and some weather damage. Also called Fire Insurance or Casualty Insurance.

Prorate:

This refers to an adjustment made on a payment to account for unused service so that buyer and seller each pay their respective share of costs in proportion to the time in which they own the property.

Rate-vs-Fee:

An inverse relationship exists between a mortgage interest rate and the upfront fees paid. When borrowers opt to pay more upfront, the lower the interest rate becomes. It is much better to buy down the rate if you are going to be in a home for more than five years.

Real Estate Agent:

A state-licensed professional who negotiates the sale of real estate, typically on behalf of its owner. A buyer’s agent represents the buyer in a real estate transaction.

Real-Estate Owned (REO):

A term referring to properties owned by banks as the result of a foreclosure.

Realtor:

A real estate broker or agent who is affiliated with the National Association of Realtors.

Refinance:

The process of replacing an existing mortgage with a new one, typically to take advantage of lower interest rates or to change the terms of the mortgage.

Reserve Account:

Reserves set aside by a condo association to cover anticipated maintenance and other expenses.

Reserve Analysis:

Typically initiated by the board of a condo association, a reserve analysis studies every single item in the common area — from the roof to the paving in the parking lot, to make sure that adequate reserve funds are being established for their eventual replacement.

Reserves:

This refers to the amount of liquid assets that a borrower has after paying the down payment and closing costs.

Return on Investment (ROI):

The amount of profit a property generates divided by its value. A $100,000 property that generates $8,000 per year would produce an 8% ROI.

Risk:

In terms of credit, risk refers to the likelihood of a borrower being able to make payments in a timely fashion and, ultimately, to pay off a loan. Naturally, lenders prefer low-risk borrowers to those who pose a high risk. Lenders determine risk by reviewing a person’s credit score and credit history.

Risk-Based Pricing:

The higher the perceived risk, the higher the interest rate the borrower will pay.

Single-Family Residence:

Unlike a condominium, in which certain areas are shared between individual homeowners, a SFR is a private unit intended for occupancy by a single family.

Subprime:

Refers to loans offered to high-risk individuals (with low down payments and/or bad credit scores) and thus carry the highest interest rates.

Termite Report:

A report issued by a licensed state inspector that reports termite infestation and dry rot and any damage that resulted. The report will list corrective action and the cost of repairing damage to a home.

Tract Number:

Refers to a subdivision of land as it is identified by the U.S. census. Tracts can range anywhere from 2,500 to 8,000 inhabitants.

Uniform Standards of Appraisal Practice:

Designated by the Appraisal Foundation, these guidelines are intended to facilitate equitable appraisal practices.

Yield Curve:

A yield curve is the representation of the relationship between an interest rate and the time to maturity of a debt. The shape at any given time will determine the difference between long-term loans like a 30-year fixed-rate loan and, say, a 5/1 ARM.

Our team is available to assist with all your lending and real estate questions.

DESIREÉ ESTRADA
Realtor®  #01981121

w:  estradadesiree.com
e:  desiree@revelrealestate.com
o: 9320 Wilshire Blvd. 100-A Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Schedule a Consultation

10 Signs You May Be Ready To Buy A Home

white towel on white wooden sofa
  1. You have been working consistently for 2 years in the same field.
  2. Your rent is getting too expensive, or frustrated with annual rent increases.
  3. You want to build a real estate portfolio.
  4. You have money saved for a down payment, or closing costs, or home maintenance.
  5. You earn a high income and want to invest or need a tax write off.
  6. The amount you pay for rent and savings equates to a comfortable mortgage payment.
  7. You know someone willing to co-sign or gift you funds.
  8. You just graduated college and are working in your major.
  9. Your debt is manageable.
  10. Your credit score is above 600.

Ready to leave renting behind? Before you start looking at homes for sale, shop around, compare lenders and get pre-approved for a mortgage. Pre-approval helps you know how much house you can afford and what loan program is best for your situation.

There are various programs, solutions, and complimentary guidance if want to make your dream of homeownership a reality. We are available to create a plan that works for you.

DESIREÉ ESTRADA
Realtor®  #01981121
w:  estradadesiree.com
e:  desiree@revelrealestate.com
o: 9320 Wilshire Blvd. 100-A Beverly Hills, CA 90212
Schedule a Consultation

8 Home Loan Options

Whether you’re a first time home buyer or a seasoned homeowner, there’s a mortgage program that’ll meet your needs. New programs are constantly being released or are available for limited time but here are 8 commonly used options.

palm trees under blue sky

California Mortgage Terms

The term, or duration, of most mortgage programs in California is 30 years followed by 15-year mortgages. Adjustable Rate Mortgages have the shortest terms and require borrowers to refinance their mortgage in the future to reset the term and rate, typically to a fixed-rate mortgage.

4 Government-Insured Home Loans

1.FHA Loan

FHA loans are popular kinds of mortgage programs in California for first-time home buyers. FHA loans allow down payment gifts from blood or by-marriage relatives. Many first-time home buyers get started with a little financial help from their families.

Requires:

  • 3.5% down payment
  • FICO scores down to 620 (and sometimes lower, depending upon circumstances) are allowed.

If you make a smaller down payment (less than 20%), an annual mortgage insurance premium (MIP) is required. MIP is paid monthly and tacked onto the principal, interest and insurance portions of the payment. To get rid of FHA mortgage insurance, borrowers must refinance into another type of loan, typically switching over to a conventional mortgage.

FHA loans have a one-time, upfront mortgage insurance premium (UFMIP) at the time of closing.

While popular with first time home buyers, California FHA loans can also be used by anyone as long as they’ve not owned or had an interest in a property in the last three years. But that doesn’t mean you can go out and buy a home in Malibu with an FHA loan. FHA loan limits, for one-unit properties, are:

  • $420,680 floor in low-cost areas
  • 115% of median home prices in the county, or a maximum of
  • $970,800 ceiling in high-cost areas.

2. VA LOAN

Requires:

  • $0 down
  • FICO scores down to 620.
  • VA eligibility certificate
  • VA funding fee (usually 2% of loan, unless eligible for a service-related disability).

Borrowers must be active duty or honorably discharged veterans (and in some cases qualifying spouses). Unlike other government-sponsored loans, no mortgage insurance is required. However, there is one-time, upfront VA Funding Fee. Like other programs, loan limits apply. California VA loan limits, for one-unit properties, are:

  • $647,200 in low-cost counties
  • $970,800 in high-cost counties

3. STATE PROGRAMS

The California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA) was established in 1975 to help low and moderate income Californians get safe and affordable housing. First-time home buyer programs in California include two down payment assistance programs, each of which can be combined with standard mortgages. Qualifying FICO score is usually 680.

  • MyHome Assistance Program is a small loan (5% of loan amount) to help offset the down payment and closing costs for first time buyers. The loan is deferred; you don’t have to pay it back until the home is sold or paid in full.
  • Zero Interest Program (ZIP) is very similar to MyHome above, but the loan amount is 3% of the total mortgage and carries 0% interest rate. ZIP repayment is also deferred.

The interest rate for the state programs are usually double the standard rate, and can affect your monthly payment or loan qualification but is a great option for certain needs.

4 Conventional Home Loans

1. CONFORMING LOAN

A conventional loan is also called a “conforming loan” when it meets guidelines set by Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac, two government-sponsored entities (GSEs) that acquire the bulk of mortgages after they are made between a lender and a borrower. One major restriction on conforming loans is their size. They cannot exceed California conforming loan limits, which are:

  • $647,200 floor in low-cost areas.
  • $970,800 ceiling in high-cost areas.

In the past, conventional programs required 20% down payment. The combination of higher credit score and down payment requirements earned conventional loans the reputation as being “out of reach” to most first time buyers. Like their government-insured counterparts, conventional mortgages require mortgage insurance when the loan-to-value is greater than 80%. Conventional loans use private mortgage insurance (PMI). PMI goes away on its own, over time, as the LTV gets to 80% or lower. That’s a stark contrast to FHA loans which carry mortgage insurance for the life of the loan (borrower must refinance to get out of MI).

Requires:

  • 5-20% down
  • FICO scores down to 680, 740 is ideal for a competitive interest rate.

2. CONVENTIONAL 97

Conventional 97 loans are a type of low down payment mortgage for first time home buyers with good credit. Borrowers only need to come up with a 3% down payment, which then creates a mortgage balance of 97% loan to value (LTV), hence “97” in the mortgage product’s name. 

3. HOME POSSIBLE

Home possible is affordable given the smaller 3% to 5% down payment requirement. The one that’s right for you will depend upon your income, the type property you wish to finance, and property location. Home Possible mortgages are designed for low to moderate-income homebuyers and are well-suited for first-time home buyers and younger borrowers.

4. JUMBO (NON CONFORMING)

Home prices in California are high compared to many states in the United States. Borrowers here sometimes need a bigger loan, one that exceeds conforming loan limits. That’s when jumbo mortgages come in handy. Jumbo loans are available in amounts up to $3 million.

You know you need a jumbo loan if the size of it exceeds the loan limits posted above.

Find out how much you can borrow, estimated costs, monthly payments, programs, and more. Complimentary loan consultation with our preferred lender.

CONNECT WITH OUR LENDING TEAM

DESIREE ESTRADA 

REALTOR®
c:  323.543.1881
e:  desiree@revelrealestate.com
o: 9320 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 100-A Beverly Hills, CA 90212




This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is DESXREVEL.png

The Pros & Cons of Buying a Mobile Home

Features of the Modern Mobile Home

Mobile homes, also known as “manufactured homes,” are built in a factory and placed on a trailer chassis to allow them to be moved. Mobile homes are sometimes placed in a mobile home park or on leased land. In these cases, the owner rents a space or leases land, but owns the mobile home itself.

Alternatively, mobile home owners can place mobile homes on land they own or are buying under contract.

The Pros:

  1. Affordability: The average cost per square foot for a manufactured home is $49 per square foot versus $107 per square foot for a traditional home built on site.
  2. Structural Strength: All manufactured housing sold in the United States bears a permanently affixed “red seal” to show that all requirements of what is sometimes termed the most stringent certification process in the building industry have been met.
  3. Versatility: A basic manufactured home can be extremely affordable, families who own an appropriate site can start small, with the option of adding additional manufactured modules as their needs change.
  4. Energy Efficient and Eco-Friendly: Today’s manufactured housing is 27 percent more efficient than it used to be. 
  5. Lower Taxes: As long as your manufactured home is installed on your own private land, you can get a lower property tax compared to when your home is considered real property.

Manufactured homes have become a primary part in addressing the problem of housing shortage as a result of high prices and demand.

The Cons:

  1. Availability and Cost of Suitable Land: There can be a shortage of available land with proper access and existing utility service. In some areas, the land is deed-restricted to require site-built construction.
  2. Lingering Stigma of Mobile Homes: Verify zoning restrictions and limitations.
  3. Lender Requirements: If they decide to lend, the end up charging very high rates and offering terms that are not friendly. The alternative to a mortgage is a personal property loan which can involve even more stringent qualification requirements, additional cash investment, and less favorable terms.
  4. Foundation and Land Lease fees: Balancing the costs of various foundation choices and land lease fees sometimes exceed the cost of a stick-built mortgage.
  5. Long-term Value: The market value of manufactured homes depreciates with time, which is disadvantageous especially if you plan to resell your manufactured home in future. In California, manufactured homes depreciate fast when they are not maintained well. Just like a car after leaving its dealership company, the value of manufactured homes plummets once it has left the factory.
  6. Mobile? Not Really: Many manufactured homes are “grounded” with concrete foundations, decks, site-built porches, garages, patios, and lush landscaping, situated in subdivisions with abundant amenities for upscale lifestyles.
  7. Park Policies: This means that, it doesn’t matter how much you spend on your manufactured home, as long as you don’t own the land it is installed on, you will have a landlord.

As with any major purchase, the decision must depend on a family’s individual needs and circumstances. When you weigh the pros and cons of buying a mobile home, the value becomes apparent and the uncertainty of “are mobile homes a good investment?” fades away for sure. Before planning to get your “sweet home”, be sure to evaluate your own specific housing goals and plan the right process for it.


All data is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed accurate by the RLS or Revel Real Estate. See Terms of Service for additional restrictions. © 2020.. All material presented herein is intended for information purposes only. While, this information is believed to be correct, it is represented subject to errors, omissions, changes or withdrawal without notice. All property information, including, but not limited to square footage, room count, number of bedrooms and the school district in property listings are deemed reliable, but should be verified by your own attorney, architect or zoning expert. The number of bedrooms listed above is not a legal conclusion. Each person should consult with his/her own attorney, architect or zoning expert to make a determination as to the number of rooms in the unit that may be legally used as a bedroom. We are an equal housing opportunity provider. Consistent with applicable law, we do not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, lawful source of income, military status, sex, gender identity, age, disability, familial status (having children under age 18), or religion. Equal Housing Opportunity. 

Home Buying Guide

Welcome!

If you’re considering buying a new home but don’t know where to begin or what you need. Download a free version of our buying guide.

Step 1 towards homeownership: consultation. We look forward to assisting you through the process.

DE Team

Your form could not be saved. Please try again.
Your form has been successful, kindly check your email for your free version buying guide.

Buying Guide & Home Search App

Download a free version of our buying guide & free app which works directly with the MLS.

The SMS field must contain between 6 and 19 digits and include the country code without using +/0 (e.g. 1xxxxxxxxxx for the United States)
?

HOME LOAN CONSULTATION

STEP 2 One Step Closer to Homeownership:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Home Loan Consultation

If you’re ready to make your dream of owning a home a reality, you’ve probably already heard that you should consider getting prequalified for a mortgage. Find out how much you can borrow, costs to consider, & programs before you start house shopping with no obligation. 


Complete the form below and our loan consultant will be in touch.

Just want general information? Download our guide first.

The SMS field must contain between 6 and 19 digits and include the country code without using +/0 (e.g. 1xxxxxxxxxx for the United States)
?

BACK TO STEP 1: HOME BUYING GUIDE & APP

READY FOR STEP 3: WORK WITH DESIREE


Pre-Qualification FAQ

frequently asked questions:

Documents required for review:

• 2 year tax returns including W2’s 

• Bank statements for 2 months 

• Paystubs for 1 month

• Full Credit Report (We can provide with consent)

What is mortgage prequalification?

Mortgage pre-qualification is an evaluation by a lender that determines if you would qualify for a home loan. It also shows how much the lender would be willing to lend you. Getting pre-qualified is the first step towards getting a mortgage, but it does not guarantee a loan. Your pre-qualification letter should be submitted along with your offer to show sellers that you are a serious and qualified buyer.

How to get pre-qualified for a mortgage?

The lender will ask for some basic information about your financial history and will need to run a credit report. If you meet the lender’s guidelines for issuing a loan, he or she will issue you a pre-qualification letter, which states the home loan amount the lender is willing to let you borrow.

How long does it take to get prequalified for a mortgage?

Because it’s an informal, nonbinding evaluation, you can get pre-qualified in a day or two, sometimes less. Depending on the lender, pre-qualification can happen in person, over the phone or online.

Why should I get pre-qualified for a mortgage?

There are a number of reasons why it’s a good idea to get pre-qualified for a mortgage. A pre-qualification letter can help your offer stand out in a competitive market, and help show sellers that you’re a credible buyer who can act fast and secure the financing needed to purchase a new home. In some cases, sellers may require a pre-qualification letter from every prospective buyer who needs financing to purchase the home. Getting pre-qualified can also help you during your home search because it can tell you what you can comfortably afford to spend on a home.

What if I am turned down for my mortgage pre-qualification?

If you don’t qualify for a mortgage pre-qualification, there are some things that you can work on that may increase your chances: work to improve your credit score, fix any errors on your credit report, or create a plan to reduce debt and/or save for a larger down payment. In many cases, your lender can work with you and give you tips on how to improve your chances of getting your home loan pre-qualification.


BUYING | SELLING | CONTACT ME

All data is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed accurate by the RLS or Century 21. See Terms of Service for additional restrictions. © 2020. Century 21 Allstars. All material presented herein is intended for information purposes only. While, this information is believed to be correct, it is represented subject to errors, omissions, changes or withdrawal without notice. All property information, including, but not limited to square footage, room count, number of bedrooms and the school district in property listings are deemed reliable, but should be verified by your own attorney, architect or zoning expert. The number of bedrooms listed above is not a legal conclusion. Each person should consult with his/her own attorney, architect or zoning expert to make a determination as to the number of rooms in the unit that may be legally used as a bedroom. We are an equal housing opportunity provider. Consistent with applicable law, we do not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, lawful source of income, military status, sex, gender identity, age, disability, familial status (having children under age 18), or religion. Equal Housing Opportunity. 


Tips for Getting the Most out of a Home Inspection

A proper home inspection is your best defense against buying a property that will be a home improvement nightmare. Your Real Estate Agent will recommend you hire a licensed and bonded home inspector when your offer is accepted so much in fact, you will have to sign a waiver form if you refuse to complete an inspection. They charge on average $400-$600, use these tips to get the most out of your home inspection.

1) Show Up

Make sure you are present for the home inspection and be prepared to ask questions and point out specific problems you’d like to check out further. This will be the first time your home inspector has been at the property, so your knowledge of potential issues is invaluable.

2) Use Someone You Trust

Doing your homework to find your own home inspector can really give you peace of mind. While your realtor probably has a few inspectors that he or she can recommend, you can still find your own. An impartial, third-party home inspector will be able to talk freely and frankly about potential issues. You may have to pay a little bit extra for a quality home inspector, but compared to the purchase price of a house, it’s well worth it. 

3) Don’t be Afraid to Ask Questions

The reason you hired a home inspector is because this person has the necessary knowledge to evaluate whether or not this potential property has any issues that would make purchasing the home a bad decision. And you should respect your home inspector’s knowledge and time. However, if something doesn’t look right or you don’t understand what a home inspector is referring to, speak up. It’s better to ask a question now than have an issue arise after you’ve purchased the property. 

4) Get Pictures for Proof

Any home inspector worth using will bring a camera along on the inspection. The inspector will also be heading into places that you won’t want to go if you don’t have to (the roof, crawl space, under decks, the attic, etc.). Ask your inspector to photograph any potential issues that arise so you can see the issue for yourself and make sure you fully understand the problem.

Infrared and thermal cameras can give you and your inspector a look behind walls and floors that you otherwise wouldn’t be able to get without ripping out drywall or flooring. Because this technology is so accessible, your home inspector should use these pieces of equipment throughout the inspection (though some home inspectors may charge an additional fee for this service).

5) Pay Attention to the Roof

A home’s roof plays a huge role in keep the interior in good shape. It’s also one of the most expensive and labor-intensive parts of a house to replace. Try to find out when the roof was last replaced, the age of the shingles and weather or not any warranty exists. Make sure your home inspector actually goes up on the roof during the inspection (unless it’s physically unsafe to do so) ? there’s only so much you can see while standing on the ground. Keep eyes peeled for curling or missing shingles and pay special attention to anywhere there’s a chimney, vent or skylight to look for signs of water intrusion. You can also see signs of water issues in the attic if it’s accessible. 

6) Look for Cosmetic Fixes

Freshly-painted walls and new floors are often signs a homeowner cares about the home they’re selling. But sometimes these things can also be cosmetic cover-ups of underlying problems. Pay attention to any suspicious fixes — only part of a floor patched or repaired or only part of a wall is freshly painted ? and ask your inspector to take a closer look.

7) Test GFCIs

GFCI outlets are part of the building code in rooms where moisture is present (kitchen, bathroom, laundry room, etc.). Your inspector will know how to test these outlets properly, and malfunctioning or non-working GFCI outlets could hint at bigger electrical problems. 

8) Look in the Attic

A well-functioning attic is crucial to protecting a home. If your home inspector can get into the attic without trampling insulation, you can often learn a lot about the home and any renovations or repairs. One very common inspection red flag is improper venting of bathroom fans into the attic (and not extending the vent all the way through the roof). If your bathroom fan is venting directly into the attic, all it’s doing is sending moisture and humid air into the attic where it cause mold, rot or worse. It’s also not up to code. If possible, have your inspector check for attic air leaks. While you can fix these attic air leaks, an attic with air leaks could have potential issues with insulation, moisture, mold or worse.

9) Give the Plumbing a Try

Losing water pressure or dealing with a slow drain can be indicators of larger plumbing issues. Make sure bathtubs and shower pans are leak-tested. And have the home inspector inspect the water main and shutoff points (very useful knowledge if/when you take ownership of the property).

10) Furnace and Water Heater

Beyond making sure the furnace and water heater work properly, you should find out how old each one is and the last time each received service. Replacing a furnace or water heater can be pricy, so if either one is in need of replacing soon, you need to keep that in mind while putting together your offer on the property. You can also get a feel for how the furnace is cared for by checking the furnace filter. A filter that’s in obvious need of changing can hint at other postponed or ignored maintenance.

11) Don’t Forget the Basement

An unfinished basement will give a lot of clues to the condition of the house and foundation. Look for cracks, signs of repairs and water issues. A crack in the slab or wall is not always a dealbreaker, but understanding why a crack appeared is important. Your home inspector will be able to tell you if anything needs further inspection from a structural engineer.


BUYING | SELLING | CONTACT ME

10 Home Buying Words You Should Know

Plan on buying a home soon? Here are 10 words you should know during the process:

  1. OFFER: An agreement between buyer to seller to purchase real estate. Also known as a sales contract.

2. CLOSING COST: Fees paid at the end of a transaction either by the seller, buyer, both, or lender. They include the taxes, insurance and other lender fees.

3. HOME INSPECTION: Examination of the property’s condition. Usually performed by a qualified home inspector of your choice.

4. APPRAISAL: Property and or land valuation completed by an appraiser who determines the market value, typically paid by the buyer when in escrow to purchase.

5. SIGNING: Typically occurs when you will be signing your loan documents for the home purchase. Scheduled by your lender near the end of the escrow period.

6. CONTINGENT: Occurring or existing only if (certain circumstances) are the case. For example your offer to purchase is valid if the appraisal, home inspection, and mortgage approval is approved.

7. EARNEST MONEY DEPOSIT: An upfront deposit made to the seller showing the buyer’s good faith in a transaction. Typically held in an escrow account until the close of escrow. Initial deposit can be returned to the buyer if no contingencies have been completed.

8. TITLE: A bundle of rights in a piece of property. The title company will provide you with the preliminary title to review before accepting the property.

9. INSURANCE: Choose your home owners insurance and provide the information to your lender. Gather 3 or more quotes before choosing.

10. RECORDING: The day after signing your final loan documents, the loan will fund and the ownership of the property will be transferred to the buyer. This is the day you will receive your keys!


BUYING | SELLING | CONTACT ME

10 Credit Tips

The Holy Grail of all credit scores: 850. On the widely used FICO credit score scale, approximately one in every 200 people achieves perfection.

The perks of having a perfect or even excellent credit score (think 740 or higher) are undeniable. It puts the ball completely in the corner of the consumer rather than the lender. You’ll often have lenders fighting for your business, and in nearly all instances, you’ll be offered the best interest rate by lenders, meaning you’ll have the lowest possible long-term mortgage and loan costs of any consumer.

Here are 10 credit tips I’ll share with you that should help in your pursuit of an 850 credit score:

  1. SET UP AS MANY AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS AS POSSIBLE.

Reduce the possibility of a late payment and eliminate the “I forgot” excuse that ensures that you’re never late on your bills.

Setup autopay so you never miss a payment, or bill pay reminders to receive notifications when your bills are due.

A history of on-time payments helps show lenders that you can manage credit responsibly. A payment that is late 30 days or more is often reported to the credit bureaus.

0 late payments for maximum credit points

2. DON’T CARRY A BALANCE IF YOU DON’T HAVE TO

If you can, pay your credit cards off each and every month. One of the greatest misconceptions is that you need to carry a balance on your credit cards to improve your credit score, which just isn’t true. As long as you’re paying your bill on time each month, even if that bill is paid off in its entirety every month, then you’re going to see a long-term positive benefit in your credit score. Now that you know you don’t have to leave a balance on your card, here’s how much you should be swiping:

3. USE LESS THAN 30% OF YOUR AVAILABLE CREDIT

If you use too much of your available credit, you may not have enough credit when you need it, but most importantly lenders will think you’re spread thin financially if you use every dime of your credit limit.

Use less than 30% of your available credit. If your credit card limit is $1,000 only use MAXIMUM $300 on that card. But keep in mind that using some available credit and paying it off immediately may be better than not using any credit at all.

Use up to 10% of credit limit for maximum credit points

4. DON’T CHECK YOUR CREDIT SCORE EACH MONTH

Another somewhat common misconception is that you need to stay on top of your credit score like a hawk. Having a few inquiries a year is normal, but people with too many inquiries within a short period could be seen as applying for multiple new credit lines, which is an indicator that someone could be financially overextended.

Your credit score can take a long time to adjust upward, limit your credit score checks to between two and four times annually. 

0 credit checks within 2 years for maximum credit points

5. DON’T BE AFRAID TO INCREASE YOUR CREDIT LIMIT

If you’re a compulsive spender, fear of increasing your credit limit would be justified. In all other cases, I’d suggest cardholders embrace the idea of higher credit limits. Yes, increasing your credit limit will likely involve your lender taking a hard look at your credit report, and it may result in a temporary loss of a few points on your credit score. But over the long term it could help lower your credit utilization rate, which will have a considerably more positive impact on your credit score as long as you remain responsible with your spending.

$50,000+ credit limit for maximum credit points

6. KEEP GOOD-STANDING ACCOUNTS OPEN AND USE THEM FROM TIME TO TIME

One of the bigger errors consumers make is closing good-standing credit accounts because they believe credit card companies will view the action as “responsible.” Some believe that by having fewer accounts, they’ll be demonstrating to lenders that they can responsibly manage their credit – but that is NOT the case. Keep your oldest credit account open and in good standing.

The age of your oldest credit account shows lenders how much experience you have handling credit. So don’t close old paid off accounts, not only will it not help, but it can damage your score.

25+ years old credit account for maximum credit points

7. ONLY OPEN ACCOUNTS WHEN IT MAKES FINANCIAL SENSE

Opening a credit account makes sense when it’s an exceptionally large purchase, such as a house or car, or when it’s a large purchase that would strain your checking or savings account. In other words, avoid opening multiple new credit accounts just to save 10% on that $29 shirt you want.

Only apply for credit when you NEED it, and once you open an account, make sure to manage it by paying your bill on time and only using as much as 30%.

Open no more than 2 accounts within 2 years for maximum credit points

8. KEEP CAR / HOME INQUIRIES WITHIN A SHORT TIME PERIOD

If you’re shopping around for credit accounts like a mortgage or an auto loan, try to keep your inquiries within a short time period. The Vantage Score 3.0 model counts all inquiries that appear in your credit file within a 14 day window as a single inquiry.

Run your credit once, ask them to give you a copy of your full report to use when shopping for loans.

9. BECOME AN AUTHORIZED USER

Simply put, an authorized user is someone who is granted access to another person’s credit-card account. Becoming an authorized user on a responsible person’s credit card can be a quick path to building credit without a credit check.

If you already have great credit established, adding a trustworthy authorized user to your card can help you earn more rewards more quickly, while helping someone else build his or her credit. But as you’ll see, mutual trust is key to an authorized user relationship.

 Be sure to investigate before making the decision to add or be added as an authorized user: https://wallethub.com/edu/authorized-user/24717/

10. FOCUS ON YOUR REVOLVING DEBTS FIRST

If you happen to carry a balance on your credit cards, it’s important for consumers to focus on paying off their revolving debts first.

Whether you realize it or not, FICO actually takes the types of debt you pay into account when calculating your score. These two types of debt are revolving and installment. Revolving debts typically have higher interest rates and your minimum payment is based on the amount you owe. Department store credit cards are a good example. Installment loans are fixed loans of a lengthy time period, such as a mortgage or car loan. Paying down your revolving debts first often means paying less in interest.


Hopefully these 10 tips will get you on your way to 740+. If you need unique help or have questions, feel free to schedule an appointment and we can get you on the free path to a good score. Simply fill out the form below.


BUYING | SELLING | CONTACT ME

All data is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed accurate by the RLS or Century 21. See Terms of Service for additional restrictions. © 2020. Century 21 Allstars. All material presented herein is intended for information purposes only. While, this information is believed to be correct, it is represented subject to errors, omissions, changes or withdrawal without notice. All property information, including, but not limited to square footage, room count, number of bedrooms and the school district in property listings are deemed reliable, but should be verified by your own attorney, architect or zoning expert. The number of bedrooms listed above is not a legal conclusion. Each person should consult with his/her own attorney, architect or zoning expert to make a determination as to the number of rooms in the unit that may be legally used as a bedroom. We are an equal housing opportunity provider. Consistent with applicable law, we do not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, lawful source of income, military status, sex, gender identity, age, disability, familial status (having children under age 18), or religion. Equal Housing Opportunity. 

Home Purchase With ITIN

How to buy a house with an “Individual Tax Identification Number” ITIN Home Loans

video-image-replacement-555x312.jpg

Undocumented residents that couldn’t obtain a loan even though they were qualified financially can now purchase a home with a loan program for residents with an ITIN.

What does that mean?

If someone does not have a SS number, frequently the company they work for will set them up with an ITIN so that they can be employed. The individual will then file their taxes under the ITIN.

Even though the ITIN shows that the person has been working and paying taxes, previously they would still not have been able to get a loan because of the requirement for a SS number.

Now, one of the programs available has waived the SS number requirement. If you have any friends or family that have been turned down because they don’t have a SS but have been filing taxes for 2 years with an ITIN we can get them a loan.

Requirements:

• 2 years of tax returns

• 2 Months of bank statement

• 20% down payment

• 1 year employment in the same or similar line of work (salary or self employed).

• Borrower must occupy the property.

Program Highlights:

• Fixed Loan

• Higher Interest Rate

You can also qualify combining a resident with a Social and with ITIN with as little as 10% down.

Owner occupied up to $750,000 purchase and Cash out.

Schedule a consultation

BUYING | SELLING | CONTACT ME

All data is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed accurate by the RLS or Century 21. See Terms of Service for additional restrictions. © 2020. Century 21 Allstars. All material presented herein is intended for information purposes only. While, this information is believed to be correct, it is represented subject to errors, omissions, changes or withdrawal without notice. All property information, including, but not limited to square footage, room count, number of bedrooms and the school district in property listings are deemed reliable, but should be verified by your own attorney, architect or zoning expert. The number of bedrooms listed above is not a legal conclusion. Each person should consult with his/her own attorney, architect or zoning expert to make a determination as to the number of rooms in the unit that may be legally used as a bedroom. We are an equal housing opportunity provider. Consistent with applicable law, we do not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, lawful source of income, military status, sex, gender identity, age, disability, familial status (having children under age 18), or religion. Equal Housing Opportunity.